And While We’re On The Subject…

I love my lip products!

Yesterday I posted about my incredible collection of nail polish. Today I’m posting about my lipstick addiction. Actually, it is best described as a lip product addiction because I also have a large amount of lip gloss and lip balm. Unlike my nail polish collection, my assortment of lip products has no cash value. If I decided to sell off my nail polish collection tomorrow, I guarantee I’d be able to find a person (or people) who would buy the entire thing. My lip products, on the other hand, are useless to everyone but me.

First of all, I have some that are at least 12 years old. Will I ever use them again? Um…no. Am I holding onto then anyway? Absolutely. In a lot of ways I am the ideal customer; I love pretty packaging and I won’t shy away from spending the big bucks for something I believe is better quality–whether real or imagined. I consider myself an addict because I always buy more lip products without throwing any away, and I can’t leave the house without having some type of emollient on my mouth. Or in my purse. Or in my desk drawer.

That still doesn’t explain why I have Bonne Bell Lip Smackers saved from Jr. High. Or the too-light-for-my-complexion lipstick that was free with purchase from Lancome. I’m not in any danger of having my house overrun with piles of lip gloss, but it is still enough of a problem for me to seriously question my spending habits. I know for a fact I’m not the only one; a few years ago a woman on a make-up forum posted a photo of her lipstick stash and I thought I was going to pass out from shock. My lip product ‘collection’ takes up as much space as a few Caboodles make-up cases, hers was an entire Helmer full! (Helmer is the name of a drawer unit made by Ikea. Nail polish and make-up addicts love them because they’re tall and they hold a lot of stuff.)

When I saw how may lipsticks, glosses, and balms she had I thought, “I’m an amateur compared to her!” And then I patted myself on the back for showing some restraint; I don’t think I could accommodate an entire Helmer full of lipstick.  Still, holding onto lip balm because it has ‘sentimental value’ is a little strange, even for me. But I feel justified in keeping my odd hodgepodge of lip stuff because I’m the one who paid for it. I don’t care if it’s congealed, separated, or unfit for human use; as long as it looks pretty in the packaging, I’m keeping it.

So there. 😛

Peace out 🙂

Erie

2 thoughts on “And While We’re On The Subject…

  1. omg I thought I was the only one! I’m a SUCKER for pretty packaging (Hello Kat Von D & Fairy Drops Mascara!!)! I’ll hang on to that shit for YEARS. I have eyeliners that I bought when I was in my teens. I’d never touch them to my face again, but they are SO pretty!

Leave a Reply

