My Home and Native Land

In a lot of ways I’m a typical Canadian; I have African, Irish, British, and Aboriginal lineage, all of my ancestors moved here from somewhere else, and I’m extremely polite 🙂 I love hockey, maple syrup, and poutine. I complain about winter and summer. I don’t like to brag about my achievements, I believe that all oceans are ‘warm once you get in’ (which is just a nice way of saying,’I’m-numb-so-the-water-is-perfect’) , and I still think that Tim Horton’s has the best coffee 😛

Because I live in Canada, I can tell our American neighbours with certainty that implementing universal healthcare is a great idea. In the 30+ years I’ve been alive I have been sick hundreds of times. I’ve had more prescriptions than I can remember, and one or two overnight hospital stays. I’ve done all of this without having to worry about how I would pay for it, because a visionary named Tommy Douglas introduced the first universal healthcare program to North America. (In 2008, Douglas was voted The Greatest Canadian–with good reason!)

I’m proud of our culture which can best be described as diverse. Every ethnicity that has settled here has contributed in some way, and that is something to celebrate. We’ve learned how to live together in spite of our differences–and sometimes because of them. We’ve (slowly) accepted the responsibility for our past wrongs, and are looking to creating a better future for the good of all.

Oh, and we’re also a liberal, democratic country and proud of it 😀

“Our hopes are high. Our faith in the people is great. Our courage is strong. And our dreams for this beautiful country will never die”. 
– Pierre Trudeau

Happy Canada Day!

Erie

3 thoughts on “My Home and Native Land

Leave a Reply

