I Was Born With A Reading List I Will Never Finish

A few titles on my endless reading list.

A wise woman, that Maud Casey.

My mother is an avid reader. As a child, my mother would read me a bedtime story nearly every night. My favourite was ‘The Three Little Pigs’  because mom always did the best voices. When I learned to read–at age 4–it was no surprise to anyone who knew me; I loved books. I loved them so much I used to carry a bag full of them wherever I went. (Actually I still carry books with me all the time. Old habits die slowly 😀 ) As I got older, books played a more central role in my life. I was bullied as a kid so I didn’t have a lot of close friends. Thankfully, I always had my vivid imagination, and a good book to read.

I have my mother to thank for that 🙂

I read indiscriminately. By the time I was 12, I had already read our entire World Encyclopedia Collection, my mother’s Psychology textbook, and anything I was allowed to sign out from the library. (My mother supervised my library sign-outs after I picked up a Jackie Collins novel when I was 8.) I loved to play outside with my friends, but I always found a way to justify a ‘reading break’. In high school, I was one of the few students who enjoyed all of the books we were assigned to read.

When applying for a job in retail my decision was a no-brainer; the only place for me was a book store. I love being surrounded by books, talking about books, and learning about books, so a book store would be my natural habitat. It’s expensive–I always end up with new books to read–but it’s worth it.

In December I challenged myself to read 100 books by the end of 2012. Giving myself a goal has reawakened my love for reading, which was temporarily displaced after I bought a computer. (So much distraction!) Thus far, I have read 46 books, with 54 more to go. I never thought I would come close to achieving my reading goal, but I’m pretty good at accomplishing things when I give myself a deadline. Unfortunately, my reading challenge has added more books to my “to-read-list”, and I know that I’ll never read all of them, but the discovery of new books, new authors, and new worlds has been a rewarding one.

I should know. I’ve been on this journey for my entire life.

Regards,

Erie

2 thoughts on “I Was Born With A Reading List I Will Never Finish

  1. Wow! You’re an avid reader! I never read a novel until I was 18, I hated to read before then. Now, I’m usually reading 2 or 3 books at once; I guess I’m making up for lost time. You go girl! You’ll make your goal!

  2. I made a reading challenge myself. 65 books in 2012. I’d go higher but then my job and child would feel kind of ignored. I am horribly behind and in the process of catching up. A good novel is a cheap vacation. I love it.

Leave a Reply

