Unicorn Pee?

Clarins 230, AKA ‘Unicorn Pee’ (this picture is crooked)

Well…kind of.

When I mentioned in a previous post that I’m a collector of nail polish, I wasn’t joking. I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to find the most obscure colours for a reasonable price. Like most collectors those of us who like nail polish take what we do very seriously. On the other hand, we also like to make fun of ourselves, which is why this particular shade of nail polish is referred to as “Unicorn Pee”.  (Or Unicorn Tears for the genteel) It all started on a beauty site a few years back, Clarins #230 was (and still is) one of the most sought-after nail polish colours ever. (I can’t verify this, but I do know a lot of people who would love to have it) Unfortunately, it is also one of the most rare; Clarins discontinued this colour a number of years ago, which led to ridiculously high demand for it among nail polish fanatics. One day someone on the beauty forum I belong to—I forget whom, decided to nickname this shade “Unicorn Pee” because it was near-impossible to find at the time.  Unicorn Pee Clarins 230 is basically the “mint-condition-Mickey-Mantle-Rookie-Card” of nail polish. It is available for purchase now though..if you have a spare $100+ dollars  that you want to spend on a single bottle of nail polish.

Or, if you’re like me, you can wait until someone gets desperate enough to sell it for $20, which is what it would have sold for anyway.

There are lots of other hard-to-find colours, but none have incited as much hysteria, envy, and intrigue as this one. The fact that it’s a totally unique colour helps; sure, anyone can make a burgundy nail polish, but not everyone can make a burgundy nail polish with purple, green and gold highlights!

I realize that I sound about as deep as a puddle right now, but believe it or not, this is progress for me. I am, at heart, a serious person. I smile only when I feel like it, I can be stern on the best of days, and my no-fuss wardrobe consists mostly of jeans, t-shirts, and blouses. I spend a lot of time thinking about the deep mysteries of life; why am I here? how do I achieve my goals? and what will the world be like when Buddy, Baby-Doll, and Muffin grow up?  And the list goes on forever.

Somewhere between my first battle with depression and anxiety and my last one, I figured out that I needed an outlet that didn’t involve anything heavy. On top of everything else, I’m also an avid news-watcher and learning how messed up the world is on a daily basis did not aid in making me less anxious. So I started to do fun things, like hanging out with my niece and nephews, painting my nails, writing in my journal, and surrounding myself with positive people. I also started reading my Bible more, and the verse “Be truly glad. There is wonderful joy ahead, even though you have to endure many trials for a little while” became my personal motto.

If I’m going to have to endure many trials, my nails will look perfect while I do 😉

I learned that life doesn’t have to be all serious, all the time. Sometimes the simplest things can bring you the most joy; receiving a big hug from your beloved, hearing your parent say that they’re proud of you, and yes, even finding a $100 nail polish for $20.

It is my duty to live the best life I can while I’m still upright and breathing. My best life just so happens to include  a large and supportive family, a strong faith, lots of books and tea, a legacy of creativity and social activism…and a ridiculous collection of nail polish! 😀

Have a Wonderful Saturday!

Erie

2 thoughts on “Unicorn Pee?

Leave a Reply

