Change

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living.”
Gail Sheehy

 

There are a lot of changes being made at  my place of employment and I can honestly say I don’t mind them. (I’ve been with the company for nearly 12 years, so at this point, resistance is futile.)  Accepting change is an entirely new thing for me because I spent many years being averse to it. In other words, I would fight against it with everything I had. My former supervisor and I used to debate all the time because he loved to make changes, and I never failed to challenge his decisions. Especially when I knew thought they wouldn’t work.

Like most people I enjoy being comfortable, and for me, comfort has always been consistency, efficiency, and predictability. I didn’t learn how to adapt to change until I had to adapt to many changes–all at once. (2008 will forever be known as, “The Year I Got Way More Than I Could Handle”)

I have since learned that change isn’t necessarily a bad thing because it encourages us to step outside of our comfort zones. (I’m pretty sure I was pushed, but I’m not bitter.)  In my experience, I have grown more by being placed in new–and often uncomfortable– situations, than I have by staying within my cozy little bubble. (No matter how cozy it is.) I learned that I cannot control my environment, but I can control my reaction to it. I may not like change, but I have decided to embrace it.

After all, some of the greatest blessings I have ever received came disguised as curses.

Happy Friday, Y’all 🙂

Erie

2 thoughts on “Change

Leave a Reply

