10 Things I Am Thankful For This Week (July 8-July14)

  1. Being Prepared. On Monday I found out that my workplace was implementing a new system in which each employee has to write down everything they do, from the time they sign in to the time they sign out. I have been writing down my daily routine since May, so it didn’t have any bearing on my day-to-day activities.
  2. Family  Buddy, Baby-Doll and Muffin stopped by to add some excitement (and a lot of toys) to my week. Being around them always makes me feel like a kid again 🙂
  3. Growth.  I am now at the phase in life where I can experience change without being overwhelmed by it. I couldn’t say that 10 years ago.
  4. Tea. My beverage of choice! As C.S. Lewis once said, “You can’t get a cup of tea big enough or a book long enough to suit me.”  I concur. (Especially if it’s Earl Grey!)
  5. Books.  My constant companions since childhood. I am currently reading books 53 and 54 of my yearlong 100 book challenge, and I look forward to long waits because they give me  more time to read.
  6. Music. I really like the music by The Civil Wars because they remind me of family singalongs. (I have awesome singers in my extended family) I also have a renewed interest in the band Kansas because Buddy taught himself how to play “Dust in the Wind” on piano.
  7. Kindness. I spent years as a misanthropic curmudgeon, but more and more I’m noticing how many extraordinarily kind people there are. I still notice all that’s wrong with the world, but this time it’s balanced by all of the great things 😀
  8. Fun.  I received 2 long-awaited packages in the mail. One was a new tea I wanted to try, and the other was filled with cosmetics, because I am that type of girl 😛
  9. Wisdom. Meditating has changed my life. I used to think it was really complicated and “spooky”, but all it involves is directing your thoughts toward positive things rather than negatives. My counselor put it like this: ‘When you are anxious, you’re meditating on the negative effects or outcomes of a situation. You already know how to meditate, but you haven’t been focusing your mind on the right things. When you change your thoughts, you change your attitude. Change your attitude, change your perspective.’
  10.  Rest. My former supervisor used to have to beg me to take a lunch break. I used to be a workaholic, “all-out-til-you-fall-out”, employee. After going through a long  period of sickness, I realized that rest was equally as important as work. Now I take the time to sit down and enjoy the silence, rather than forfeiting that privilege to get more work done.
So what are you thankful for?
Have a great Sunday!
Erie
7 thoughts on “10 Things I Am Thankful For This Week (July 8-July14)

  1. A lunch break, what is that?? I am finding that being the one who puts 110% in is not always the most important thing. Finding a neutral ground you can be healthy and happy in is far more important, working on that currently!!

Leave a Reply

