I Can Do It, and So Can You

 

“If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint“, then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.”
― Vincent van Gogh

 

 

I knew this was going to happen. Every time I start one of these, “I’m-only-going-to-post-what-I-want!” blogs I somehow end up with followers, and then I immediately begin to second-guess myself. All of the sudden, what I write isn’t good enough. My thoughts aren’t “clear” enough. I hate my grammar and my punctuation is all wrong.

Well, I think that my inner critic is a lying wench. She always has been. She’s currently trying to tell me that I don’t have anything important to say, and I should stop blogging because I’m making myself look unintelligent.

Then I remember why I started writing in the first place; I write because I need to.

I don’t get interrupted when I write. I can make a point quickly, I don’t get bogged down by details, and I can make better sense of my thoughts when I read them on a page.

I started this blog so I would have a place to express myself. (Why I had to do this publicly is anyone’s guess.)

As a young woman, I had a lot of female mentors who spoke words of love and wisdom into my life. Even during my darkest and most desolate moments, I had those encouraging words in my heart to remind me that everything was going to be all right. (Even if it didn’t feel that way at the time)

I hope to do the same for someone else. When I think back to those times I don’t remember the grammar and syntax of the speaker. They spoke plain and to-the-point. There were no eloquent speeches, their words weren’t at all flowery, but they told me exactly what I needed to hear–and I didn’t think any less of them for not sounding like highly-educated orators.

I was just thankful that they cared enough about my well-being to encourage me.

I don’t know who is going to read what I write–to those of you who are following, thank you :))

I hope that something you read here makes you laugh, or think, or nod your head in agreement, or help you recognize that you are not alone.

That is all I really want.

After all, I’ve read plenty of technically perfect essays with no soul, as well as soulful essays that are an editor’s worst nightmare.

Guess which ones made more of an emotional impact?

I’m an imperfect person, so I am going to make mistakes. I hope that when I do, I have the grace and humility to accept correction, as well as someone who cares enough to correct me.

Now that I’ve taken the pressure off myself, I can’t wait to see what I write next.

 

Have a wonderful Tuesday,

Erie

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

