I’m Not in Charge (And That’s Okay)

Every so often, something happens in life that reminds me that we are not in control of our circumstances. We have lots of things that give us the illusion of control, but ultimately we all fall prey to time and chance. Sometimes life is great, sometimes it isn’t, and there’s nothing we can do about it. I’ve gotten better at accepting the fact that life isn’t always going to go my way. However, there are still moments when I ask “Why me?” as though I’m exempt from disappointment and suffering. I have already experienced my share of discouragement and loss, and it isn’t going to end anytime soon. On the other hand, I have also experienced moments of pure, unadulterated joy, peace, and love.
I could choose to focus on all of the misfortune, but where would that get me?

“We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.” –Anais Nin.

If my perspective of the world is a poor one, what does that say about me? In my heart of hearts, I am an idealist. I always look for the best qualities in people, and in some instances this point of view has led to my being disappointed, and heartbroken. Yet I don’t allow discouraging circumstances to change me.

One of my favourite bible verses is Proverbs 27:19 “As water reflects a face, so a man’s heart reflects the man.”

My heart is still strong, loving, and eager to embrace what life has to offer. If it’s positive, I will accept it joyfully. If it’s negative I will take the time to examine what–if anything–went wrong, and how the situation could be improved.

I believe that gratitude is the antidote to complaining, because a grateful heart is too full to find fault.

This week there was a tragic loss in my extended family. It has cast a shadow, but the good news is that shadows are perceptible evidence that there’s a light source somewhere. I pray that I never stop looking toward the light.

I may not be able to control what happens to me, but I can choose how to respond. Even in the midst of sorrow, joy is a better option.

Blessings,

Erie

Leave a Reply

