Off The Cuff Thursday

 

Here’s what’s on my mind today:

 

 

  1. Everyone needs a good auntie. I’m blessed because I have 11 aunts all together (not including the aunts that married into the family) but I have two in particular that stand out.  My mother’s sister was the aunt that exposed me to culture. She was the one who took me to my first Multicultural festival, my first ballet (The Nutcracker), and enrolled me in a creative writing workshop when I was 8 because, as she put it, “You were born to be a writer.” My dad’s sister’s main goal was to get my introverted self to mingle with people my own age. She signed me up for summer camp, dance camp, and arranged all sorts of outings with people I didn’t know just so I would learn to be comfortable around people who I wasn’t related to. Both of them have been invaluable sources of support and encouragement, and I wouldn’t be who I am today without their guidance.
  2. I have been completely alone for an entire week. Everyone in my immediate family has gone on vacation, including my brother and his family, so I have been totally on my own. I am surprisingly OK with this–although I have caught myself speaking out loud just to hear my own voice.
  3. I bought more nail polish even though I promised myself I wouldn’t. I was going to count my collection, but I don’t actually want to know how many I have.
  4. Cucumber-lemon water is my new favourite drink. All you do is add cucumber and lemon slices to water and…Voila! Refreshment!
  5. I haven’t been rude, abrupt, gossipy, or standoffish in 7 days. Oh right. I’ve been off work for 7 days. 😛
  6. I hate doing laundry. Correction: I hate folding and putting away laundry. I don’t mind washing and drying at all.
  7. I really need to learn how to drive.
  8. I like the TV version of TMZ. While I couldn’t care less about the celebrity gossip, I like the quips the staff members make. (Oh, come on! It’s funny!)
  9. More and more I get the vibe that a lot of churches are exclusive clubs that value conformity above all, yet, when I read the Bible, everyone who accomplished something great eschewed convention to do what was right by God. (I could be wrong though, I’ve been known to read different translations.)

 

 

Peace and Love,

Erie

3 thoughts on “Off The Cuff Thursday

  1. Yeah the unconventional does appear to be the way of God. I.e. walk around Jericho seven times, don’t cut your hair, walk on water… you know, just another day in normal land? I think not just like you. Great post. Grace and peace

Leave a Reply

