Off The Cuff Thursday

Here’s what is on my mind today:

  1. Every time I watch a show about dancing I feel the urge to get up and try my hand at it. My favourite dance-related shows are So You Think You Can Dance, and Breaking Pointe.
  2. I have found that I forgive people a lot easier than I used to. When I was younger my main focus was on doing everything I could to seek vengeance. Nowadays I know that the best revenge is letting go of the resentment you feel and moving on with your life. Forgiveness isn’t about allowing people to get away with hurting you; it’s about freeing yourself from the bitterness and hatred that holding a grudge can create.
  3. On that note: did you ever notice that when you’re angry at someone, everything they do is offensive?
  4. In two weeks I have to pray in public for the first time. I know it’s not about me, but I am really excited about it.
  5. Why do most right-wing Christian commentators sound so angry on TV? It is yet more evidence that modern-day Christianity has strayed from the source, and is now relying on something other than the word of God for guidance.
  6. This may sound odd, but I think that having anxiety for so long has actually helped me handle stress better. I’m used to imagining the worst case scenario in every situation, so whenever the worst doesn’t happen (which is most of the time) I breathe a sigh of relief and move on.
  7. I work as a shipper/receiver in a book store and I have notice an increase in the amount of romance type novels we’ve been getting thanks to the hype over the 50 Shades trilogy. Am I wrong for thinking this is strange?
  8. Is 31 too old to be wearing hot pink running shoes? I’d like to buy some, but I don’t want to look like I’m trying to be young.
  9. A friend sent me a link to the blog Rich Kids of Instagram. I immediately judged them all for being so self-indulgent and wasteful, and then I felt regretful because I know that in some ways I am just as wasteful as they are. I don’t have any right to judge how anyone else lives their life–or what they do with their money, and no one has the right to judge the way I live mine. We all have issues, but the way we deal with those issues will say more about us than any of the material things we accumulate.
  10. Jumping around the kitchen with an 18 month-old is surprisingly fun.

 

Have a great Thursday 🙂

Erie

Leave a Reply

