Off The Cuff Thursday:I’m Not Cut Out For Reality TV

This is what is on my mind today:

  • Canada finally has its own editions of two international TV hits: Big Brother and The Bachelor. A coworker asked me if I would ever audition for either of those shows. My answer; a resounding  NO! I’d be really good at the mental aspects of the game; staying “under the radar”, observing people to gauge what kind of ally they would be, and remaining loyal to whoever I decide to align myself with. The things I would not be good at: keeping my big mouth shut when I find out someone is being dishonest, playing both sides against the middle (because who has the time to remember so many lies?), and participating in all of the lame challenges. No, thank you. Also, I don’t like competing with one woman over a man, let alone 25! I don’t think I’d make it past the first stage of interviews.
  • I’ve been thinking about forgiveness lately, and I have come to the conclusion that I know I have  truly forgiven someone when I can see them on a regular basis and not wish that they’d just fall into an elevator shaft already.
  • My nephew, Muffin had a birthday this week. He celebrated with a snazzy Batman cake, sparklers, and by dancing to “Gangnam Style” (even my mother participated, though she later asked, “What are we listening to?!”) My niece  Baby-Doll made us play it 4 times in a row.
  • I’m getting older: my nephew Buddy spent the entire evening texting his friend who is a girl.
  • This story. 😀 (The moral of the story: You don’t get to decide how others should feel about themselves. Stand down.)
  • I have read 76 books this year. I’m not even counting the ones I started reading and gave up on. I hope to make it to 100 by December 31st. 🙂
  • One of my favourite books–and one of the longest–is The Brothers Karamazov. It was so good that I kept highlighting lines while I was reading it. My favorite characters were Father Zosima and Alyosha.
  • My boss gave me a cookbook because I freaked out like a fangirl when she told me that she’d met the author in Montreal.  😀 (The Food Network is my favourite TV station!)
  • I took an informal poll at work and found out that more of my coworkers believe in zombies than Jesus. That got me to thinking; if  we said that Jesus was a zombie, more people would think he was cool, more people would follow him, and more people would actually believe that he’s coming back. That’s really sad.

I’m odd.

Peace 🙂

Erie

2 thoughts on “Off The Cuff Thursday:I’m Not Cut Out For Reality TV

  1. Wow, what you said about Jesus and Zombies there was very interesting, and yes, that is sad. Sometimes being odd is way better than being “normal” (in my humble opinion). I’m odd too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

