Off The Cuff Friday:I’m Selfish (And other self-aware confessions)

Here’s what is on my mind today:

  • I have  recently come to the conclusion that I am really self-absorbed. The good thing is I know this about myself, so I can actively work to change it by shifting my focus from my own needs, wants, and preferences, to the needs wants and preferences of the people around me. However, that does not mean that I will become a pushover (not possible) rather, I’ll make more of an effort to put other people first.
  • I’m not actively following the presidential race to maintain my sanity, but I did happen to catch a bit of the VP debates last night. In my opinion, Vice-President Joe Biden won, while Congressman Paul Ryan held is own.
  • Today I met up with an old friend from high school. I haven’t seen her in several years, yet when we met, we picked up right where we left off (nary an awkward silence to be found). I’m glad I have such great people in my life.
  • I put a bookshelf  together last night. My dad is a carpenter/contractor, but I didn’t once ask him for help. I did ask him for a screwdriver, but only because I don’t have one.
  • I’m currently reading “How To Be A Woman” by Caitlin Moran. I know way more about her than I will ever need to, but I like her. She reminds me of my cousin, who was born without that filter in the brain that says, “What you are about to say might offend some people.” It makes for a lot of brutally honest conversations, and those are usually the best kind.
  • Self aware confession #2: I can put up with almost anything except inefficiency.
  • The highlight of my week was getting 2 hours to myself so I could meditate. 🙂
  • I miss the old version of The Learning Channel. You know, the one that actually taught you useful things. I’d take a Desmond Morris documentary over Honey Boo-Boo any day of the week.
  • Our dependence on technology is getting to be a little ridiculous. I’m saying this because once I saw an image of the new iPod, I decided that my old one (which was the newest version) isn’t good enough anymore, so I need to spend $300 on a brand new one. It’s stupid.
  • People use the word courageous so much that its true meaning has been diluted. Acting performances are not courageous; a pop diva’s latest album is not courageous. If you want to see the epitome of the word courageous, look no further than this 14 year-old girl.

That’s all I could think of for now.

Peace,

Erie 🙂

Leave a Reply

