Blah Blah Blah: Ten Things That Irritate Me

Today’s post is going to be totally frivolous. The reason? Well, I have a tendency to be kind of intense, and the majority of my blog posts reflect this. However, I also have a lighthearted side. (You know a side that likes to dance for no apparent reason, or laugh at a joke someone told 10 years prior)  While I enjoy writing about such heavy-handed topics like forgiveness, acceptance, and leadership, I also like to write about make up and clothes.

This post isn’t going to be about either of those though; instead I’m going to write about ten things that irritate me for no good reason.

  • Yoga Pants worn as actual pants. I’m not talking about the, “I just came from the gym/yoga, and I am wearing my gym outfit” look; I’m talking about people who have decided that yoga pants are an acceptable substitute for jeans or slacks. Seeing as how I own several pairs of yoga pants that have never seen the inside of a gym–or a yoga studio, I’m not in any position to judge. However, I do wear my yoga pants in my house, but only while I’m working out. They aren’t necessarily the best pant choice for work. Unless you happen to work in a gym or yoga studio.
  • The pull tab on CD packaging. You know the one. It says “pull here”, and then when you pull it nothing happens. I’ve taken to ignoring the thing all together and cutting the wrapping off with scissors.
  • Packing Peanuts. At work, I receive and send away a lot of products. Occasionally, I’ll get a delivery, open the box and realize that I have to get through hundreds of recycled peanut-shaped pieces of Styrofoam before I get to the product. I dislike them because they’re messy and difficult to sweep up.
  • The fact that I can’t delete the ‘Stocks’ app from my iPod. It’s completely useless to me, yet I can’t get rid of it.
  • eBay Scalpers. This is a problem for myself and other nail polish collectors. Usually what they’ll do is purchase a surplus of hard to find limited edition colours at the regular price, and then sell them on eBay for three times what they’re worth. I refuse to support them–no matter how much I like the colour.
  • Pepto-Bismol. This really does irritate me because I’m allergic to it. The last time I took some I broke out in hives. Even my eyelids were covered!
  • That one person that walks into a practically empty bus, and decides to squish you into a seat rather than sitting alone. I usually counter this by sitting in the uncomfortable seats that no one likes to sit in.
  • People who use hashtags on Facebook. This doesn’t include people who have linked their Twitter with Facebook. That’s acceptable. The reason you use hashtags on twitter is so you can see what others are posting about. On Facebook they just kind of sit there. And that’s just odd.
  • Anyone who sends me invites to play games on Facebook. My final answer: No! I spend enough time on the computer without having to tend to a virtual farm/kingdom/cafe/mafia empire. I don’t like the games, and I don’t want to play!
  • Ingratitude. I have to admit that my life isn’t where I thought it would be at this age. I still have a lot to learn–and even more to do. That said, I’m grateful for everything in my life–the good and the bad, because I know how easy it is for circumstances to change (and not always for the better). That’s probably why I have a hard time dealing with people who are ungrateful. The way I see it; if you’re always complaining about what you have, there’s a slim chance that you’ll be trusted with more. Contentment isn’t about settling for mediocrity; it means that you’re satisfied with your life, but are willing to embrace change when it happens. (There I go being serious again!)

Now I’m going to ask a question: What irritates you? Comment if you need to vent 🙂

Peace,

Erie

Leave a Reply

