Off The Cuff Thursday: Challenge Accepted

Here’s what is on my mind today.

  • Personality– I have always been interested in the connection between a person’s upbringing and their personality. My older brother and I are both stubborn, persistent, and, according to our parents, natural leaders. That’s where the similarities end. In spite of the fact that we were raised in the same house, with the same parents, my brother is an outgoing and charismatic people person, and I am an introverted and aloof loner. My brother’s leadership style is to be out front, calling the shots and delegating while mine is to remain behind the scenes and lead by example. My parents raised us the same way, but we’re essentially opposites.
  • Challenge- The older I get, the more I enjoy being challenged. I guess it’s a throwback to my school days, when I used to put off doing my homework until 5 am, the morning it was due. Because I’m such a lackadaisical person, I need the pressure in order for me to move. Otherwise, I’ll just stay wherever I feel comfortable, and that has never helped me. It reminds me of when I used to run all the time. If I didn’t get tired or sore afterward, I knew I did just enough to maintain my level of fitness. In order to become stronger and more fit, I had to push myself until I reached a new target…and then push myself more until I passed it. Like most people, I enjoy being comfortable. But I didn’t grow up until was forced to be in uncomfortable situations. The opposition strengthened my resolve, and I became comfortable with discomfort. One of the defining traits of my personality type is that we thrive when we’re opposed, and enjoy being underestimated. Plus I am argumentative by nature, so backing down isn’t an option unless I don’t care.
  • Politics-Truth be told this election annoyed me. I hated how nasty it got. However, I am glad for the outcome, simply because it really shook up the right-wing conservatives. I’m a Christian, but I am also a liberal. I do not believe that I am making God angry because of my political views. On election night, I tweeted about how convenient it was that God’s choice for president happened to be the man who agrees with the conservative ideology. I think that the re-election of President Obama gives the conservatives (who claim to stand for Christian values) a chance to display those values by working together with the President to rebuild the country.
  • Colonel Lawrence Wilkerson-This morning, I listened to an interview that he did with Anna Maria Tremonti (host of the CBC radio show, The Current) and for the first time in a long time I agreed with everything a conservative said. He is brilliant.
  • Reading-I am currently reading Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov. I’m really enjoying it, even though I am still at the point where I have no clue what is going on. (The writing is lovely though.)
  • Gratitude- Yesterday I read an article that read, “If you make $15000 or more per year, you earn more than 75% of the 6 billion people on earth.” That was difficult to hear. I can’t afford an apartment and still be able to buy food and clothes, yet I make more than most of the people on this planet. Even though, I don’t have much I am grateful for all of it.
  • Injuries-I stabbed myself in the finger while popping packing material at work. I had to laugh because it was such a ridiculous way to hurt myself. Thankfully, I had isopropyl alcohol pads and bandages, so I didn’t bleed all over the merchandise.

Picture of the week is a motivational poster for people with the Myers-Briggs personality type Introversion Intuition Feeling Judging.

Have a great day 🙂

Erin

  • INFJ Motivational Poster (from Personality Cafe)

2 thoughts on “Off The Cuff Thursday: Challenge Accepted

Leave a Reply

