Off The Cuff Thursday: I’m A Workaholic (and other stuff)

Here’s what is on my mind today:

I am an unrepentant workaholic. While I am at work, I am hopelessly devoted to my tasks. (I don’t even pay attention to my outward conditions. Work is the only thing I’m interested in) I’m so devoted that sometimes my supervisor has to remind me to take my lunch break. I used to work through them, but was gently reminded by my boss that I am required, by law, to rest for 30 minutes (the length of my break). On the other hand, when I’m resting, I am really resting. Last July, my immediate family went to Ontario leaving me to fend for myself for 12 days. I loved it because I didn’t have to keep my house in pristine condition. It worked in my favor because I really didn’t want to do anything other than eat, sleep, read, and exercise. I am hardworking while on the job, yet surprisingly sloth-like when I want to relax.

I have 1 month left in my 100 book reading challenge, and I’m on book #88. I initially started with a set list of books I wanted to read, but half way through I was like, “I’m reading whatever I want.” It has led to some interesting discoveries.

The last book I read was A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans. I decided to read it after hearing that several U.S. Christian bookstores declined to stock it. (I’m contrary) When approached for comment, one of the bookstore owners responded by saying that they were not going to sell it because the author’s previous title hadn’t sold well. I, as a seasoned bookstore employee, beg to differ. (And also, Shenanigans!) The store I work for carries thousands of titles. Our vendors run the gamut from large, established publishing houses, to small, self-published titles that we stock on a consignment basis (it’s rare, but it happens). Some of the books we stock are immediate bestsellers. Some are word-of-mouth sleepers. Some of the titles don’t sell at all, but we don’t refuse a title just because the author’s last book wasn’t a hit. (If that were true, we wouldn’t have received so many copies of Snooki’s latest novel.) Having read the book, I think their beef is not with the author’s book sales. The book has a few issues that church folk get all highfalutin about. Like sex (believe it or not, there are lots of racy passages in the Bible, and she mentions them in her book), and women becoming pastors (most evangelicals are firmly in the “no” camp). Her views are progressive, and that’s a problem for most old-school believers. The truth is we[Christians] all pick and choose which parts of the bible we staunchly ascribe to…and which ones we ignore. Every Christian is the same in this regard, and none of us has the right to judge her because she interprets the word of God differently than we do. In the past, the Bible has been used to defend slavery, spousal abuse, murder, racism, and polygamy. It has also been used to defend the rights of the poor, loving your enemies, and taking care of foreigners. If Christians are really supposed to be the moral authority, we need to follow the example of Jesus. He didn’t hang out with church folks; he hung around with prostitutes, lepers, tax collectors and foreigners. He had a female disciple (Mary Magdalene), and went about doing his father’s business, completely unintimidated by naysayers. He spread his message by treating everyone with love and respect. Now that’s an example I’d like to follow.

I was in a really good mood today. I didn’t complain when I had to move an entire pallet of cafe supplies because the employees from the coffee shop we share a warehouse with forgot to do it. I was singing while I unpacked 4 pallets of books and toys (yes–toys) and my boss caught me dancing while listening to my iPod. (And she teased me about it) Thank God for joy.

I hope you all are enjoying your day 🙂

Erin

 

Leave a Reply

