Off The Cuff Thursday:I Hung Up On A Telemarketer

        This is what is on my mind today:

  I don’t make a habit of hanging up on people, but in this instance it was earned. First of all, the person they wanted to speak to no longer lives at this residence.(And hasn’t for a long time) Second: I will refuse to give out their new contact number until the person calling tells me who they are and why they’re calling. (Which they did not) Third: If you raise your voice at me, I will hang up on you.

      The unfortunate person on the other end of the belligerent, rude, and unprofessional phone call did all three. And that’s why I didn’t feel guilty about giving them an earful of dial tone. I know what it’s like to be in the customer service industry because I was a sales rep for seven and a half years.  I have had  plenty customers swear at me, refer to me as stupid, and hang up on me. I did not, however, refuse to give my customers basic information like who I am and why I was calling.  That’s Retail 101! If you are calling a customer or client, identify yourself, the company you work for, and the reason you are calling. If you fail to do any or all of these things, I will assume you are a con artist, and you will be treated like one. Good Day.

   Reading psychology books has helped me understand people better. A few months ago, I assumed that the  differences between myself and other people were a result of him or her being an idiot. I have since revised my viewpoint because we cannot all be the same, and a person is not an idiot just because they disagree with or behave differently from me. Another byproduct? I no longer feel ashamed of being an introvert because it  is completely normal.

  On the news, I have heard more about who Taylor Swift is dating than I have about the Typhoon in the Philippines. Our priorities are strange.

    One thing that I didn’t understand until this week: Sometimes the difference between progression and stagnation is how you handle difficulty. As long as I was comfortable, I didn’t learn much about life or myself. When I was forced out of my comfort zone, I had to rely on resources other than the ones I was used to, which enabled me to gain more wisdom from my experiences. In a sense, going adversity has been my greatest source of strength. (Even though, it was horrible to live through, knowing that I could live through it gave me confidence.)

    The best way to get out of a rut is to help someone else. You don’t necessarily have to donate money. Time and resources also mean a lot. Many times we forget that we’re here to take care of each other, so the occasional reminder is a nice thing.

    In frivolous news, I am quite proud of myself for going into a store filled wall-to-wall with make-up, and only purchasing one thing (and not one bottle of nail polish!) I think my collection is overflowing, and possibly due for a purge soon, so this is progress for me.

   Aside from purchasing a $40 goat, I have no desire to buy anyone anything else for Christmas. This could be a byproduct of witnessing the impatience, rudeness, and greed that goes along with the holiday season for nearly 10 years in retail, but it’s mostly due to laziness.

  Yesterday I came to the realization that, for the first time in my life, I am content. My circumstances haven’t changed how I feel.  (And at this point, they won’t) Adversity hasn’t changed how I feel, and the fact that I am nowhere near where I thought I’d be at this age doesn’t make me anxious. The transformation started when I decided to eliminate whining and complaining from my life so I could focus on the blessings. I haven’t looked back since. 😀

Have a great day!

Peace,

Erie

Leave a Reply

