Sometimes Life Just Breaks Your Heart

My day began like any other day. I woke up at 5 am, prayed, checked my emails, and went through the rest of my pre-work routine. Workout, shower,  make-up, breakfast, and coffee. On the drive, I was thinking about all the presents I had to buy later in the evening.

When I started work, I was thinking about how much I’d get done before my shift ended.

And then everything changed.

I listen to news radio during my shift, and I was shocked and saddened to hear about the shooting in Connecticut that claimed twenty-seven lives, including the shooter.

My mind immediately went to the twenty-six people who lost their lives, as well as those who survived.

Twenty parents will have to face the rest of their lives without their children. Six people will not return to their loved ones. One troubled young man had little value for human life, so he took the lives of others as well as his own.

Today’s events helped me remember that tomorrow is not a guarantee. We can plan our lives seven years into the future, but we aren’t in control of what happens to us.

That is why it is important to live life to the full. Our time here is limited. We never know when it will all be over. So remember that you have value. Value other people. Treat them the way you want to be treated. Don’t live with bitter hatred, but overcome hatred with love.

Life may break your heart, but it doesn’t have to break your spirit.

Spend time with people you care about, and who care about you. Laugh a lot. Be confident in whom you are. (Even if you’re a crackpot.). Don’t allow anyone to undermine your worth. Be generous.

Respect yourself. Be grateful, and stop complaining. Work hard. Have goals. Don’t sweat the small stuff.

The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to help other people.
We have all forgotten that we are responsible for one another, but that doesn’t change the fact that we are.

When you are blessed, you are required to share your blessing with someone else.

If one person is miserable, hungry, or homeless, it upsets the whole balance.
Life is going to be tough on us all sometimes, but if we make the commitment of putting someone else’s needs above ours, we’ll be better off.

No one can do everything, but everyone can do something.

Give an extra hug to your loved ones tonight.

Love,

Erie

 

Leave a Reply

