Ten Things I Resolve To Stop Doing This Year

  1. Expecting everyone to be just like me. I am one of a kind, and so is everyone else. Last year, whenever someone expressed anger over something I didn’t think was important, I silently chastised them for being so weak and overemotional. As I learned more about my own biases, blind spots, and weaknesses, I figured out that it was unfair for me to judge someone based on my standards. Everyone is different, and I can’t expect anyone to live and behave exactly as I do.
  2. Gossiping about situations that don’t involve me. Joyce Meyer once said, “You aren’t allowed to have an opinion where you don’t have responsibility”. I am assertive, so I consistently offer my unsolicited opinion to nearly everyone I meet. In reality, I just need to keep my big mouth shut because it’s none of my business. Really.
  3. Settling for what’s convenient instead of taking a risk. If I had a dollar for every time I avoided something beneficial for me because it was outside of my comfort zone, I’d be a millionaire. It’s great to be comfortable, but I always learn more when I am forced outside of my comfort zone. To be honest, comfort is kind of overrated anyway.
  4. Avoiding people that I don’t like. My way of adhering to the rule, “treat others the way you would like to be treated” is simple. If I don’t like someone, I don’t talk to them because I don’t want them to talk to me. This is unrealistic because there will always be someone that I don’t like (and even more who don’t like me) yet we all have to live together. I’ll work on being cordial instead.
  5. Making snide remarks to hypersensitive people. I grew up in a family that uses ridicule to show affection, so I’m not bothered by insults. Occasionally, I forget that not everyone is referred to as “ugly” in a jocular way, and I’ll say something that I think is funny but ends up being hurtful to the person I’m speaking to. A month ago, I wrote about how some people can dish out snide remarks, but aren’t great at receiving them. In knowing this, I’ll remember not to crush their already fragile egos. (If you’re confident, however, prepare to meet your match!)
  6. Neglecting my time with God. This is going to sound bizarre to anyone who isn’t a Christian, but here goes: time with God is important. It is important to pray. It is important to read and study my bible, and it is important to meditate. In 2012, I didn’t spend enough time doing most of those things, and I really feel as though I missed out by choosing to spend 2 hours on YouTube. That will change.
  7. Whining about how tired I am when my fatigue is all my fault. If I were as tired as I claim, I wouldn’t stay up so late. Duh.
  8. Wasting my money. I know, if it’s something you really want to buy, your money isn’t wasted. Well, I want to buy a $42 bottle of nail polish, just because it’s holographic, and it comes with a ring. There are several other things I can buy with $42. Like 60% of the things on my grocery list, or 4 shirts, or a goat and/or four chickens for a family in the third world. As much as I’d love to own said $42 bottle of nail polish, I’m going to save my money.
  9. Making excuses. If I don’t have a good enough reason, I refuse to replace it with a lame excuse. Adulthood means greater accountability.
  10. Taking things and people for granted.ย I am thankful for everything I have and for all of the people in my life because in their own way, they’re shaping me into the person I am meant to be. My life isn’t perfect, but it is good enough for me to celebrate.

Peace ๐Ÿ™‚

Erie

2 thoughts on “Ten Things I Resolve To Stop Doing This Year

Leave a Reply

