Off The Cuff Thursday:More Fun Than Farmville

Here’s what is on my mind today.

Luminosity. Since I am (slowly) approaching middle age, I decided to invest in some brain training, so I don’t lose my edge when I’m older. (Don’t judge me) The site Lumosity.com promises to improve your overall brain wellness and performance by giving your mind a workout via a series of games. The games test your mental speed, flexibility, problem solving, attention, and memory. I’ve only been playing for a few weeks, but according to my overall scores, I am best at games that involve memory (like, really good), attention (I’m focused, man), flexibility (being able to change gears quickly), and problem solving (Never underestimate my ability to figure stuff out). (Speed? Meh, but I’m improving) Mind you, anything that involves strict attention to details and memorization is right up my alley.

Nearly 28 years spent in introspective solitude has helped me learn how to focus on what I’m doing while simultaneously tuning out what is going on around me. This is a good thing because I don’t get distracted easily. On the other hand, I don’t always notice things that are kind of a big deal. I was waiting for my ride outside of a mall one day, iPod blaring, and nose in a book, when a shoplifter ran by me while being chased by the police. Apparently, it was a big commotion, but I had no idea because I was so absorbed in what I was reading. I didn’t even know what happened until a coworker asked me what happened when the police arrested the shoplifter. She saw more in the store than I did when I was only a few feet away.

I wouldn’t be a good double agent.

There’s strength in weakness. This past Tuesday, when I was preparing my “Talking About God” post, I had a revelation. When the people of Judah pointed out the weak, unguarded spots in the wall, Nehemiah sent reinforcements to protect them. If he ignored the weak spots, or pretended they were strong, he wouldn’t have been able to complete the wall. (What, with all the enemies he had) All of us are afraid to admit that we are weak. We don’t know it all. We will make mistakes. We are not perfect. (And that’s okay!) The only way to combat a weakness is to acknowledge its existence because if we refuse to take responsibility, ask questions, or admit when we’re wrong, or biased, we won’t be able to proceed.

God is telling me something. Every time I read my Bible, listen to the news, and talk to my friends, one message dominates: don’t give up. When I watch the news, there’s a feature on someone who faced opposition who was greater either in number or in strength–and won. My study time this week was all about Nehemiah, who trumped his opposition with faith and perseverance. All of my Christian facebook friends are posting about not settling for mediocrity, not compromising your ideals to be popular, maintaining a grateful heart, and standing up for what is right. People who don’t believe in God think we’re all nuts for believing that he communicates with us. (I think Lily Tomlin said it best: “Why is it that when we talk to God we’re said to be praying but when God talks to us we’re schizophrenic?” I’ve been wondering that myself)

Sometimes God’s way of communicating with you is by repeating messages he wants you to hear through various sources. This week, I’ve heard the “don’t give up” message in a book I was reading, in an email, and while listening to a pastor on TV. I will be a fighter until the day I die, but even we need encouragement.

Message received.

Bully Bait? There was a guy on the radio today who was talking about how he did an extensive study that proved some children were genetically predisposed to being the target of subtle or overt bullying. Yeah, it’s called being small, introverted, bookish, and non-athletic. An intensive study was not necessary.

Live Long and Prosper. Recently I listened to a documentary about the people who live in Blue Zones. There are entire regions known for having a higher-than-usual population of  male centenarians. From what I heard, the rules to living a long life are simple: 1. Eat well/healthy, 2. Exercise (most of the men were shepherds, and their wives were just as active), 3. Don’t take crap from anyone, 4.Be grateful, 5.Don’t get stressed, 6. Laugh, 7. Maintain ties with family and friends, 8. Believe in something.  9. Be resourceful. 10. Share.

Sounds easy enough.

Peace,

Erie

Leave a Reply

