Sharing Saturday: Today I Will Eat Crow

I’m not typically the type to call in sick. On Thursday, I went to work, even though I was not feeling the best, only to have to stop myself from puking while taking the garbage out. (Not cute) Yesterday, I had a few appointments and some errands to run. Sure enough, my throat started to get scratchy as soon as I sat down to get my hair cut. After one more appointment (My eyes are getting old :sad:), I opted to stop at just one of my designated shops (the pharmacy) because I didn’t want to walk anymore. I was told by nurse mom that I may be coming down with a bug. What kind of bug? I have no idea, but it seems to be the type that makes your head and body ache while making you nauseated at the same time. Fun.

In the past, my illnesses have had one primary source: my niece and youngest nephew. However, I haven’t been around them lately, so the likely option is that I picked it up from someone at work.

You know, the place where I silently chastise anyone who calls in sick without displaying the tell-tale signs of looking like a zombie the day before. I have inherited my mother’s “Oh, it’s just a little sniffle. I’ll be fine” work ethic. In the past that has meant going to work with the H1N1 virus, (which was totally wrong) strep throat, (super-contagious and also wrong) and being sent home from work because I kept coughing on the customers. (Bronchitis) As soon as I started feeling sluggish, I thought “Oh this is my reward for being cocky and unsympathetic while my poor coworkers were going through their winter ailments.

It’s one thing to know that there’s a spiritual law of reciprocity. It’s entirely another to acknowledge that it applies to you. (Which it does) Clearly, I have been served. I woke up this morning, swallowed my pride, and with my slightly mannish sick voice, called to tell the manager that I wouldn’t be coming in, which sucks because I actually like working on Saturday because there are no deliveries.

From now on, I’ll give each person who calls in sick the benefit of the doubt. On any given day, they could, like me, be laying in bed, typing with their laptop angled so they won’t have to sit up. Next time I won’t judge–even silently because being sick sucks and no one should have to face my skepticism while they’re recovering.

If someone calls in sick when they are not, that’s their business. I’m sure they have their reasons. If I’m going to miss time, I’d rather have it happen because I won’t be useful at work. For example, today I spent most of my day laying down because it was more comfortable. At work, I have to stand for seven and a half hours. My going in would have been a waste of everyone’s time and money.

So, here I am at home, proverbially eating crow. And with the exception of the few people who genuinely looked a mess and who should have stayed home from work, I’m apologetic to everyone I may have mocked. Except of course, for all the “I’m sick but I really want to hang out with my friends”, people. You know whom you are.

I understand now.

“For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”

Be healthy,

Erie

Leave a Reply

