My 10 Biggest Weaknesses

This isn’t going to be one of those posts in which I confess a crippling fear of clowns, spiders, or heights. (I’m not scared of the former, and I cured my fear of the latter in 2010) I do not have a weakness for chocolate, cupcakes, or pastries. (I like salt.)  I’m not rankled by physical contact, or intimidated by crowds. (I do hate parties, however.) I am an introvert, who likes alone time, but I also love to spend time with people. I don’t react to external stimuli, and when I’m focused on something, I can block out everything else. Most, if not all of my weaknesses have to do with how I relate to my environment and the people around me. So, here they are. All 7 of them. (I’m positive there are more, but this is enough for today.)

1. Deeming things (and people) unimportant because they are not important to me.
2. Being rude and dismissive towards people I don’t respect.
3. Becoming confrontational when I sense that a person is trying to intimidate me.
4. Ignoring people that I do not want to talk to.
5. Making snide remarks at other people’s expense. To their faces.
6.Judging other people for their life/wardrobe/book/entertainment/word choices.
7.Sarcasm.

…And 3 weaknesses that are actually strengths:

8. Forgiving people after they have treated me wrongly.

9. Being kind to people without having ulterior motives.

10. Not giving a single care what people think about me.

The first 7 things on this list are what keep me humble. I cannot, in good conscience, believe that I am an infallible and wonderful person when I mean-mugged that girl I don’t like, talked mess about that other person, and told that other person that her words don’t carry any weight with me.

Acknowledging one’s flaws is the first step in conquering them. I can be confident in the fact that, as long as I’m alive, I can be better than I was the day before. Just when I think I’ve made it, I’ll mess up, and be reminded that I am not perfect. I am human, and I will make mistakes.

What is the best part about this? It is okay to make mistakes. Smart people learn by them.  The rest? Well, they keep making the same mistakes, over and over again, and then wonder why nothing ever works out in their lives.

I may have many flaws, but they keep me grounded. Smugness is for people who are looking to be knocked off of their high-horses by the law of reciprocity. (Or in biblical terms,  you reap what you sow) I’m a Christian, so I don’t believe in karma, but I do believe that a person only receives what he or she has already given.

As people, we are not defined by our flaws or mistakes. We are defined by our spirit and our character. I admit my flaws because I know they represent only a fraction of the person I am. And you are free to do the same.

Share this! 😛

Erie ♥

Leave a Reply

