I’m not going to go into a long explanation as to why I was absent for so long. Instead, I’m going to sum it up in 5 words: School, flu, more flu.
This winter has not been kind to me, but it’s almost over, so that’s a plus.

Anyway, here are 6 random observations I’ve made about myself in the past 6 months.

1. My desire to do something exponentially increases when I’m told I shouldn’t. I shaved my head last may, partly because I wanted to, and partly because someone told me that men prefer long, chemically treated hair.

I prefer not going bald because of chemical burns, thanks.

2. I wear makeup because I like it. I haven’t dressed to impress anyone since my early 20s, which were nearly a decade ago. I reject the notion that all women who wear makeup are insecure. I’ve met plenty of insecure women who don’t wear a stitch of makeup, ever. I just happen to be one of those women who is equally adorable , with or without makeup, but I like the artistry of it, so I wear it often.

3. I’m a perfectionist.

What an awful revelation. In going back to school, I discovered that I’d rather pass in a great day essay, 2 weeks late, than a good one, on time. That’s a problem. Deadlines are there for a reason, and I’ve had to get over myself several times to get the work in on time. Adulthood is hard.

4. I value my parents more as an adult than I ever did as a child.

I think it has to do with everyone getting older, but my parents are awesome people, and I tell them often because I never want to leave anything unsaid. Life is short.

5. Good friends are invaluable.

Real talk, I didn’t think I’d make any friends in university because I’m either way older or way younger than many of my classmates. And then I started meeting people, some of whom were the same age as me, who liked me. So, I have friends. They invite me places, and bring me food, and give me great conversation. No one is more shocked by this than me.

6. I can’t save people.

I’m a Christian, so one of my main roles is to evangelize. I used to think that getting people to come to church was the aim. Now, I know that my gig is pointing people to Christ, without ever knowing if they receive him or not. I also can’t control how they choose to express their beliefs. And that’s okay. It’s not about me.

And that’s okay

Leave a comment